Former professor became a NAE member (The National Academy of Engineering)

date: 07.02.2020

category: Sporočila za javnost


National Academy of Engineering Elects

87 Members and 18 International Members

WASHINGTON — The National Academy of Engineering (NAE) has elected 87 new members and 18 international members, announced NAE President John L. Anderson today.  This brings the total U.S. membership to 2,309 and the number of international members to 281. Among the new international members the former Professor of Mechanics at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, University of Ljubljana, prof. dr. Igor Emri.

Election to the National Academy of Engineering is among the highest professional distinctions accorded to an engineer.  Academy membership honors those who have made outstanding contributions to "engineering research, practice, or education, including, where appropriate, significant contributions to the engineering literature" and to "the pioneering of new and developing fields of technology, making major advancements in traditional fields of engineering, or developing/implementing innovative approaches to engineering education."  Election of new NAE members is the culmination of a yearlong process. The ballot is set in December and the final vote for membership occurs during January.

Individuals in the newly elected class will be formally inducted during a ceremony at the NAE's annual meeting in Washington, D.C., on Oct. 4.  A list of the newly elected members and international members follows, with their primary affiliations at the time of election and a brief statement of their principal engineering accomplishments.


New International Members

Arzt, Eduard, chief executive officer and scientific director, INM – Leibniz Institute for New Materials, Saarland University, Saarbrücken, Germany.  For research on mechanical properties and development of bio-inspired functional surfaces for medical adhesives and novel gripping systems.

Blöschl, Günter, professor of hydrology and water resources, Institute of Hydraulic Engineering and Water Resources, Vienna University of Technology (TU Wien), Vienna, Austria.  For international leadership in the prediction and management of extreme hydrological events.

Chin, Daeje, chief executive officer, SkyLake Investment Co., Seoul, South Korea.  For innovations and industry leadership in semiconductor technology.

D'Andrea, Raffaello, chief executive officer, Verity Studios, Zürich.  For contributions to the design and implementation of distributed automation systems for commercial applications.

Deng, Zhonghan John, chief executive officer/chairman, Vimicro Group, Zhongxing Microelectronics Co. Ltd., Beijing, China.  For development of the world’s first CMOS single-chip web camera and China’s Surveillance Video and Audio Coding (SVAC) national video standard.

Emri, Igor, professor of mechanics, University of Ljubljana, Ljubljana, Slovenia.  For contributions to the testing and modeling of time-dependent materials, and to novel sound and vibration isolation materials.

Felser, Claudia Anna-Maria, director, Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, Dresden, Germany.  For the prediction and discovery of engineered quantum materials ranging from Heusler compounds to topological insulators.

Goenka, Pawan K., managing director, Mahindra & Mahindra Ltd., Mumbai, India.  For leadership and expansion of Mahindra’s automotive business in India, and for contributions in automotive engine lubrication.

Harrison, Susan T., professor, chemical engineering, University of Cape Town, Cape Town, South Africa.  For leadership in biochemical engineering and its application to mining and environmental remediation.

Jagadish, Chennupati, distinguished professor, electronic materials engineering, Australian National University, Canberra.  For contributions to nanotechnology for optoelectronic devices.

Marquardt, Wolfgang, chairman, Forschungszentrum Jülich GmbH, Jülich, Germany.  For contributions to process systems engineering and large-scale computations, and for national leadership in science/technology policy and management.

Meli Piralla, Roberto, research professor emeritus, Engineering Institute, National Autonomous University of Mexico (UNAM), Mexico City.  For advancing the preservation of historic structures and improving the seismic safety of concrete, masonry, and adobe structures worldwide.

Sefton, Michael V., University Professor and Michael E. Charles Professor of Chemical Engineering, University of Toronto, Ontario, Canada.  For advances in biomaterials and tissue engineering through cell microencapsulation, and for leadership of large-scale research initiatives.

Sellen, Abigail J., deputy director and principal researcher, Microsoft Research Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom.  For contributions that ensure consideration of human capabilities in the design of computer systems.

Sharaf, Essam Abdel Aziz, professor, department of public works, Cairo University, Giza, Egypt.  For leadership to modernize transportation systems in Egypt and the Middle East through scholarship, advocacy, and public policy.

Su, Guaning, president emeritus, Nanyang Technological University, Singapore.  For contributions to regional security and defense, and for academic leadership.

Vogel, Viola, professor, health sciences and technology, ETH Zürich, Zürich.  For elucidation of how proteins work as nanoscale mechanochemical switches, and applications to bioengineering and medicine.

Ward, Rabab K., professor emeritus, electrical and computer engineering, University of British Columbia, Vancouver, Canada.  For innovative applications of signal processing to industrial and bioengineering problems.

Congratulations to all new members!


back to list