Prof. Dr. Mitjan Kalin became a member of the Engineering Academy of Slovenia

date: 12.05.2021

category: Sporočila za javnost


Since the establishment and admission of the founding members in 2006, Prof. Dr. Mitjan Kalin, as the first professor of the Faculty Mechanical Engineering, was elected as a member of the Slovenian Academy of Engineering (IAS) in the Scientific – Research Group. The Slovenian Academy of Engineering was established by law in December 2006 (Official Gazette of the Republic of Slovenia, No. 127/2006) and operates in two groups, the Scientific – Research Group and the Business – Development Group. Top experts are elected to the Academy based on their achievements in technical sciences, technological development, introduction of new technologies and products, and efficient development of industrial enterprises and other business entities.

We sincerely congratulate to Prof. Dr. Mitjan Kalin!


Prof. Dr. Mitjan Kalin is a full-time professor of Tribology and Contact Engineering at the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering, University of Ljubljana, head of the Laboratory of Tribology and Interface Nanotechnology and head of the Department of Tribology and Maintenance Systems. He completed his postdoctoral studies at National Institute of Standards and Technology in the United States. Since 2017, he is an associate professor at Luleå Technical University in Sweden. His research areas are the mechanisms of friction and wear, and the occurrence of interfacial layers and films at the nanoscale. He pays special attention to the lubrication of surface coatings of diamond-like carbon, as one of the pioneers in this field. He has led forty three-year long projects, mostly international, of which he has coordinated four European projects. He has published 160 scientific papers and two scientific monographs on this work with an international publisher and has been an invited speaker 55 times at prestigious conferences around the world. For a decade, he has been Editor-in-Chief of Lubrication Science (Wiley), the only fully specialized SCI journal in the field of lubrication. Since 2018, he has been Vice-President of the International Tribology Council of the World Tribology Organization, which brings together all tribology country and professional associations in the world. After two four-year terms as an Associate Dean, he led the Faculty of Mechanical Engineering as Dean in 2017-2021.

2015 Zois Award for Excellence in Molecular Lubrication Control
2014 Top 10 Scientific Achievements of the University of Ljubljana
2012 Full member of STLE, Society of Tribologists and Lubrication Engineers
2006 Zois Award for Important Achievements in the Field of Mechanical Engineering
2006 ASME Burt L. Newkirk Award for Achievements under 40, American Society of Mechanical Engineers

back to list